Thought for Social Media Week: Kuk Sool Won is not Karate

Master Seyd Saidi, Kuk Sool Won of Dublin

Master Seyd Saidi, Kuk Sool Won of Dublin

Today marks the start of Social Media Week and seven cities across four continents are participating. I even know the lovely Joyce Sullivan who will be speaking at the New York City conference today. When I considered the buzz of activity around this glamorous and noteworthy event I could recognize most of the brand names in Social Media that were represented but what struck me on the news page sharing options was that only four were selected – Twitter, Facebook , LinkedIn and Google+. Oh to be in that top 4!

This led me to think about my new martial arts passion –  Kuk Sool Won. Why? Because on almost every occassion that I have mentioned to someone that I do martial arts they have asked me which one and when I respond I usually have to repeat it or expand on it.

I have often been asked “So when is your karate class?” Karate is one of those brand names that has become synonmous with a particular product, in this case martial arts. It doesn’t seem to matter to most people whether you are Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Cynthia Rothrock or Michelle Yeoh as I have heard their movies still commonly being referred to as karate films.

There are a number of brands that fall into this category like Kleenex, Popsicle and Zamboni and if you like you can take a look at 41 Brand Names that People use as Generic terms  you might be surprised at what you see.

I am an instinctive marketer. I talk about things and people that have had an impact on me. I share things I care about.

Kuk Sool Won is a traditional Korean martial system that has a remarkable history. I was introduced to it when my husband signed my children up for classes with Master Seyd Saidi. As a martial arts system, Kuk Sool Won seeks to integrate and explore the entire spectrum of established Asian fighting arts and body conditioning techniques and also includes mental development and traditional weapons training.

After watching my kids thriving and becoming increasingly enthusiastic about practicing this martial art I was so intrigued that I had to try it out too.

I am a martial arts fan but I don’t do Karate – I do Kuk Sool Won!

 

Disclaimer: The views expressed here are solely those of the author in her private capacity and do not in any way represent the views of Master Saidi or that of the World Kuk Sool Association.

About Vanessa Lee Thomas

floral photographer, wife, s-a-h Mom, genetic counselling supporter, martial arts fan, nature lover, writer, marketing enthusiast and freelance journalist

Posted on February 23, 2015, in Kuk Sool Won and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

