The smaller they are,  the further they fly

KSW Quote Smaller fly

It was the strangest feeling being back in class after an unexpected absence. It reminded me of how I felt as a child returning to my family home after being away on an extended excursion.

There was the feeling of familiarity with the surroundings and the procedures along with a sense of affection for objects I had used which was comforting and reassuring but there was also a sense of guilt at shirking my responsibility and neglecting my duty.

Standing in the dojang with my feet on the tape, waiting for class to begin there was the awareness that this was a place to grow and be nurtured but also a place to challenge oneself and strive to continuously improve.

There was also a hint of anxiety about whether I would remember my forms and techniques when illness had prevented me from revising between classes as I usually would.

I have learned so much and experienced so many new things and challenges that I sometimes forget that my martial arts journey is still in its embryonic fourth month stage.

“Cha Ryuht” Master Saidi calls us to attention and the class responds in unison with a resounding “Yes Sir!”

Training begins and I cautiously go through the manoeuvres testing my still recovering body to see how well it can withstand the required demands.

My training partner and I start working through our techniques and realise that we are going to need some guidance and revision on the last one we learned.

My training partner and I at the dojang

My training partner and I at the dojang

Master Saidi happily helps us through the technique and simultaneously reminds us about the importance of persistent practice.

Then to keep us on our toes he teaches us a new technique. Growing and learning – that’s the journey.. He then also explains to us why the technique is designed to help us handle an opponent who is physically stronger and of course has a quote to help us drill it into our minds.

“The bigger they are the harder they fall. The smaller they are the further they fly,” he quipped.

The first sentence is very familiar to most – even to me as a non sports oriented type it was something I’d heard my Grandfather often say but the latter part was new and so apt for our setting.

It connected with me both literally and figuratively. Being short of stature myself I actually do feel like Kuk Sool Won has taught this small person to fly. It has released me from my self created cage of sporting inadequacy and allowed me to step into a new realm of self discovery and started me on a journey to reach new heights.

Disclaimer: The views expressed here are solely those of the author in her private capacity and do not in any way represent the views of Master Saidi or that of the World Kuk Sool Association.

About Vanessa Lee Thomas

floral photographer, wife, s-a-h Mom, genetic counselling supporter, martial arts fan, nature lover, writer, marketing enthusiast and freelance journalist

Posted on April 15, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Love the way you describe our state of mind( during classes) on your blog, it inspires and encourages me more towards kuksool.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. do you use weapons often in Kuk Sool Won? like bostaff or nunchucks?

    Like

    • There are loads of weapons that you learn mainly after black belt. Currently we do no staff practice and I think it’s awesome! We also do some sword practice but not with real swords and no forms yet – that’s also for black belt level and I can’t wait! I love swords! Students get some nunchuck training during our annual super seminar but again regular training comes with a higher rank.

      Liked by 1 person

      • ah I wish we did weapons at my club! We had this rubber knife at one of my old taekwondo clubs but we never used it though which was a shame 😦 what belt are you currently in kok sool won?

        Like

Leave a Reply

